Nations Opposed

Global Compact for Migration

Countries Opposed to Immigration Pact. (From Wki)

United States:The United States did not participate in the negotiation of the agreement, at the behest of President Trump.[19]

Austria:The Chancellor of Austria, Sebastian Kurz, stated that the compact would reduce Austria’s sovereignty and mix up the difference between illegal and legal immigration as well as that between economic and humanitarian immigration.[19]

Australia: The Prime Minister stated that the agreement could “undermine Australia’s strong border protection laws and practices,” and would not sign it.[34]

Belgium: In Belgium, government party N-VA, including its Secretary of State for Migration Theo Francken came out against participating, while the three other government parties remained in favour, creating a political deadlock.[36] All the parties (N-VA, OpenVLD, CD&V and MR) did in fact agree on the compact and Charles Michel announced Belgium’s favourable position at the General Assembly of the UN on September 27, 2018.[37] Unfavourable election results for N-VA and Austria’s position on the compact had the N-VA change its position. It is understood the N-VA was put under extreme pressure of the extreme right party Vlaams Belang. On December 4, the Prime Minister of Belgium, Charles Michel, announced that the issue would be taken to parliament for a vote.[38] On 5 December, parliament voted 106 to 36 in favor of backing the agreement.[39] Michel stated that he would endorse the pact on behalf of the parliament, not on behalf of the divided government.[40] Consequently, N-VA quit the government; the other three parties continue as a minority government (Michel II).

Brazil: The incoming foreign relations ministry of President-elect Jair Bolsonaro said that Brazil will pull out of the pact.[41]

Bulgaria: On 5 December, the government announced that it would not sign the agreement; its representatives would vote “abstained.”[42]

Chile: On 9 December, the government announced that it would not sign the agreement[43][44]

Czech Republic: While not attend

Denmark: On 27 November, the Danish Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen stated that he was supportive of the agreement, but that his government would form a coalition of European countries to create an opt-out.[45]

Dominican Republic: On 4 December 2018, the Dominican government set its position on the Global Migration Pact, stipulating that the Dominican state would not sign the agreement, as reported during a press conference by the legal consultant of the Executive Branch, Flavio Darío Espinal. He also spoke about the participation of the country in the Moroccan summit and announced that the President Danilo Medina would not be in the meeting.[25]

Estonia: The Government of Estonia remained divided on the issue[46] and the country’s position was to be decided by the Riigikogu.[47] On November 26, Riigikogu passed a declaration which supported the compact. According to the Estonian Prime Minister, the declaration would provide the basis for the Governments decision to support the Global Compact for Migration.[48] On 27 November 2018, a spokesperson for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that no Estonian official would be present in Marrakesh. Instead, Estonia’s ambassador to the UN would vote in support of the compact on 19 December, during the gathering of the United Nations General Assembly.[49]

Finland: In Finland, the opposition Finns Party opposes the treaty and demands a vote in parliament.[50] The provisions disputed by the Finns in parliament are that both legal and illegal immigrants would be bestowed many of the same rights such as rights to basic services, that the treaty would not allow categorical detention of illegal immigrants,[51] and that the treaty would make migration a human right.[52][53]

Israel: Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu stated that “We have a duty to protect our borders against illegal infiltrators. That’s what we’ve done, and that’s what we will continue to do”.[29]

Italy: The Italian government has decided to not attend the conference in Marrakesh and let the parliament decide whether to adopt the compact.[56]

Latvia: On 6 December 2018, the Latvian parliament voted for rejecting the compact.[57]

Lithuania: On 4 December 2018, the Lithuanian parliament voted for a resolution which acknowledged the need for international cooperation in dealing with the challenges that migration creates and that no state can solve them alone. It also noted that the compact is not legally binding and that the state itself chooses how to implement the goals of the agreement.[58]

Luxembourg: The opposition parties Déi Lénk and the Pirate Party support the pact whereas ADR does not. The Parliament will vote on whether supporting the pact or not.[59]

Netherlands: The Migration Pact led to public debate in the Netherlands after Forum for Democracy asked for a parliamentary debate, based on worries about the supposed “encouragement of migration” and the legal consequences of the signing. On 5 December, a clear majority of the parliament approved the backing of the Migration Pact.[60] The cabinet ensured it would add a legal addendum, which would state that the Migration Pact can not be used as a viable juridical document and therefore can not be used be as legal support in asylum claims.[61]

New Zealand: The opposition National Party opposes the compact because “We don’t need to be told by the UN what to do.” and “the pact that treats illegal and legal migration the same.”[62]

Poland: On 9 October 2018, Minister of Interior and Administration Joachim Brudziński spoke against the compact, saying that it went against the priorities of Poland which were security and control over its borders.[31] On November 20, the government of Poland officially announced that it would not sign the compact.[63]

Slovakia: After a dispute broke out within the Government of Slovakia on whether to adopt the framework,[66] it was decided that the issue would be moved to parliament for discussion. Following this, the Slovakian Foreign Affairs Minister, Miroslav Lajčák, announced that he would contemplate his resignation if the parliament rejected the compact.[67] On 29 November 2018, after the parliament had voted to refuse the compact, the Foreign Affairs Minister decided to resign,[68] but later withdrew his resignation.[69] On 5 December, following his cabinets approval of the parliamentary resolution, the Prime Minister of Slovakia, Peter Pellegrini, affirmed that Slovakia would not send a representative to the UN meeting.[70]

Switzerland: Switzerland will not attend the conference for the formal adoption of the framework in December 2018. The decision was made because the parliament demanded a final say on whether the country would approve the compact, which would require more time.[72]